Web Links

Louisiana Tourism:
The Official Tourism site of Louisiana: louisianatravel.com
Louisiana African American Heritage Trail: www.astorylikenoother.com
New Orleans Plantation Country: www.neworleansplantationcountry.com
National Parks Service: www.nps.gov
 
Neighboring Plantations and Museums:
Laura Plantation: www.lauraplantation.com
Saint Joseph Plantation: www.stjosephplantation.com
Oak Alley Plantation: www.oakalleyplantation.com
Destrehan Plantation: www.destrehanplantation.org
San Francisco Plantation: www.sanfranciscoplantation.org
Houmas House: www.houmashouse.com
Nottaway Plantation: www.nottaway.com
LSU Rural Life Museum Baton Rouge: http://appl027.lsu.edu/rlm/rurallifeweb.nsf/index
The River Road African American Museum in Donaldsonville: http://www.africanamericanmuseum.org/
African American Museum New Orleans: http://noaam.org/
Backstreet Cultural Museum Treme: http://www.backstreetmuseum.org/
 
Restaurants:
Ormond Bed and Breakfast/Restaurant in Destrehan: www.ormondplantation.com
B and C Seafood Restaurant and Market in Vacherie: http://www.yelp.com/biz/b-and-c-seafood-market-and-cajun-restaurant-vacherie
Oak Alley Plantation: www.oakalleyplantation.com
Houmas House: www.houmashouse.com
Juban’s Restaurant Baton Rouge: www.jubans.com
 
Accommodations:
Oak Alley Plantation: www.oakalleyplantation.com
Ormond Bed and Breakfast/Restaurant in Destrehan: www.ormondplantation.com
Nottaway Plantation: www.nottaway.com
Cottage on the Farm: www.cottageonthefarm.com
 
Tour Companies:
Tours By Isabelle: www.toursbyisabelle.com
Old River Road Plantation Adventure: www.plantationadventure.com
Cajun Encounters: http://www.cajunencounters.com
 
Friends of Evergreen:
William Guion Photography: www.williamguion.com
Pierre Clidamont Becnel Wines: http://www.becnelplantation.com/
National Trust for Historic Preservation: Joe McGill’s Slave Cabin Project: http://blog.preservationnation.org/tag/slave-cabin-project/
Louisiana Sugar Cane Industry: http://www.amscl.org/SugarIndustry.pdf
 
Research:
The Amistad Research Center: An archive specializing in the history of African Americans and other ethnic minorities: www.amistadresearchcenter.org
New Orleans Notarial Archives: www.notarialarchives.org
Historic New Orleans Collection: www.hnoc.org
Preservation Resource Center: www.prcno.org
National Register of Historic Places: http://www.nps.gov/nr/
Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy Database: www.ibiblio.org/laslave
Encyclopedia of Louisiana History, Culture, and Community: http://www.knowla.org
Louisiana Cemeteries: www.la-cemeteries.org